Sermon Illustrations

The ministry of Spiritual Gifts originates in the New Testament, commissioned by our Lord Jesus Christ. After He established His church on the earth and ascended to Heaven, Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to equip His church with power and spiritual gifts (Greek -- charismata) so that His disciples could continue to carry out His ministry objectives. While there are certain gifts of a spectacular nature that are often given greater attention, the New Testament mentions at least 21 that are provided to the church. These gifts are listed in Eph. 4:11, Rom. 12:3-7, and 1 Cor. 12:1-12, 28, and are generally assigned to one of three categories, as listed below:

• Ministry (office) gifts: Apostle, Prophet, Evangelist, Pastor and Teacher.

• Motivational (practical) gifts: Service, Exhortation, Giving, Leadership, Mercy, Helps and Administration.

• Charismatic (spiritual) gifts: Wisdom, Knowledge, Discernment, Prophecy, Tongues, Interpretation, Faith, Healing and Miracles.

Most churches and denominations accept some variation of the "motivational " and "ministry" gifts (perhaps with controversy over the office of apostle and prophet). However others completely reject the modern day operation of the nine...

Continue reading this sermon illustration (Free with PRO)

Related Sermon Illustrations

Related Sermons

Browse All Media

Related Media