Sermon Series
  • 1. One Sin At A Time

    Contributed on Apr 8, 2008
    based on 2 ratings

    This is the intro sermon to a series on the seven deadly sins. What are they? What is so important about these sins? What do we mean by deadly? What is important to remember as look at these sins?

    Se7en: One Day Sin at a Time 1 John 5:16-17 April 6, 2008 I’m beginning a series on the seven deadly sins. The series is called Se7en. These seven sins have been highlighted by Christians as being especially important to be on guard against for hundreds of years. Let’s start off and see if more

  • 2. Pr1de

    Contributed on Apr 14, 2008

    Pride is the first of the 7 deadly sins. It is insidious. It is also often recognized as being present alongside the other 6 sins. We’ll look at what makes this so dangerous.

    Se7en: Pride 2 Chronicles 32:24-26 April 13, 2008 Pride is the first of the seven deadly sins. Many preachers and theologians have noted that pride is perhaps the one deadly sin that connects all the other deadly sins together. It acts like the nervous system. It feeds the other sins. It more

  • 3. Glut2ony

    Contributed on Apr 22, 2008

    We continue the seven deadly sins by looking at gluttony. This is a serious issue with God and in our culture. It is not limited to food either. We’ll also look at the remedy and get some tools to help us overcome this character defect.

    Se7en Glut2ony Galatians 5:19-21 April 20, 2008 How much is too much? How much is enough? Gluttony says, “Enough is never enough.” What is gluttony? How would you define? Gluttony is over-indulgence or excessiveness. What can you over-indulge in? Just about anything. Could be alcohol? more

  • 4. Gr3ed

    Contributed on May 22, 2008

    When people think about greed, a lot of us picture Scrooge. But this an extreme picture. The truth is none of are immune to the effects of greed that runs rampant in our culture. We look at the manifestation of greed and how to deal with it.

    SE7EN: GR3ED 1 Timothy 6:6-12 May 18, 2008 True or false. The bible says that money is the root of all evil. Who votes for true? False? It is false. The bible says (and this is our passage of focus today) that the love of money is the root of evil. The love of money is also known as greed. In more

  • 5. Wr4th

    Contributed on Jun 3, 2008
    based on 5 ratings

    Wrath is the fourth deadly sin that tempts us. By wrath, we are talking about God’s wrath or judgment but about our anger and what we do with it.

    SE7EN: WR4TH June 1, 2008 Various Scriptures The fourth deadly sin that we will look at is wrath. Now if we remember the purpose here is to help us look at ourselves to understand ourselves and to seek God’s strength and forgiveness to change our character one decision at a time. This was the more

  • 6. Lu5t

    Contributed on Jun 9, 2008
    based on 8 ratings

    The fifth deadly sin is lust. Like, the others, this one permeates our culture. It is everywhere. It tempts us all. It starts out so innocently but even the smallest seed can germinate to destructive proportions. We’ll see how to guard against it.

    SE7EN: LU5T 2 Samuel 11; Philippians 4:7-8 June 8, 2008 The seventh deadly sin is lust. I hope you have been able to see how our culture and our lives are inundated with these sins and how they often run hand-in-hand with each other. Our cultural advertising motto is “sex sells.” Sex sells more

  • 7. Sl6th

    Contributed on Jun 26, 2008
    based on 3 ratings

    Sloth is more than laziness. It is lack of working for the betterment of the community: both the community of the body of Christ and the community at large. Basically, it is the failure to make a contribution to make the lives of people around you better.

    SE7EN: SL6TH 2 Thessalonians 3:6-14 June 22, 2008 Alright, we are coming down to the final two deadly sins. They are deadly practices and lifestyles because they lead us to destruction and trash the community formed in Jesus. And this one is no different: sloth. Sloth is more than laziness. more

  • 8. En7y

    Contributed on Jun 30, 2008
    based on 1 rating

    The last of the seven deadly sins: envy. Greed and lust are forms of envy but focused on specific areas: sex and money. Envy is basically coveting, which is wanting something that isn’t yours. One of the “Big Ten” commandments was an instruction by God no

    SE7EN: EN7Y 1 Kings 21 June 29, 2008 Here we are at the last of the seven deadly sins: envy. Greed and lust are forms of envy but focused on specific areas: sex and money. Envy is basically coveting, which is wanting something that isn’t yours. One of the “Big Ten” commandments was an more