Summary: Removing the prejudice and misunderstanding between denominations regarding sacraments -- those physical things through which we receive a spiritual grace

  Study Tools
  Study Tools



Is there graceless bigotry and petty prejudice between Christian churches? Sadly, yes. Our churches sometimes do not teach people to think for themselves. We teach only our narrow theories rather than the multitude of counsel from the whole Church.


•Church can be boring if people are robbed of the joy of discovery, the delight of thinking and spiritual discussion.

•Christians lack unity – which is found in the bond of peace (Eph 4:3), not mindless doctrinal uniformity.

•Churches can lack grace – people who think differently are not treated with kindness and love.

•Churches can generate fear of creative thinking.

•Christians can be biased, intolerant and arrogant instead of humble about doctrine (Phil 2:3).

Where are the teachers who in humility of mind esteem others better than they esteem themselves? Augustine the African bishop taught this way. Let us try to examine the pros and cons of various points of view in humility and fairness.

Let us freely discuss the pros and cons of our various points of view with grace and love. However, let us never call each other anathema, or damned as some have historically over rather petty disagreements. That is God’s judgment. Most normal churches actually agree on the essentials of our faith.


Most Christians could agree with the simple early church definition of a sacrament: "any ritual observance or sacred thing" (Westminster Dictionary of Theology). Most Christians would also agree that the functions below are sacred, though perhaps not all sacraments.


•Baptism (Baptism)

•Confirmation, laying on of hands (Confirmation, Chrismation)

•Communion, Lord’s Supper (Eucharist)

•Reconciliation (Penance, Confession)

•Anointing the Sick (Extreme Unction)

•Marriage (Marriage)

•Ordination (Holy Orders)

Almost all Christians agree that the above rites are for the church today. Until Peter Lombard (1100’s) stated there were seven sacraments, opinions as to how many there were varied greatly. Martin Luther (1500’s) changed the number from seven to three then to two. Most Protestants follow his lead. Eastern Orthodox Christians call the Sacraments Mysteries – how God gives grace through physical rituals is a mystery.

Roman and Eastern Christians require three things for something to be called a Sacrament:

•a visible sign

•an invisible grace

•divine institution

Protestants require direct institution by Christ. Roman Catholics believe the five lesser rites were indirectly authorized by Jesus. Christians of all persuasions have always recognized the primary importance of Baptism and the Eucharist (the blessing of the bread and wine).


Baptists and Greek Orthodox will point to the Greek word baptizo (prounced: bahp-TEED-zo) which means literally "immerse." However, some miss the point that it is not always used literally in Greek, and can also mean to wash (Mark 7:4; Luke 11:38).

Some will point to Jesus coming "up out of the water," after his baptism to prove that he was immersed, but the Greek in Matthew 3:16 means Jesus literally came "up away from" the water. Of course, He probably was immersed because history seems to tell us that dunking was the usual method, but without more Bible details we cannot judge those who think a symbolic washing is enough. After all, those "baptized unto Moses" went through the Red sea "dryshod," yet it was still called a baptism.

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Browse All Media

Related Media

Breaking Through
PowerPoint Template
Growing In Grace
PowerPoint Template
Journey Of Faith
PowerPoint Template
Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion