Summary: “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for “God is love” (1 John 4:7-8 NASB)

  Study Tools
  Study Tools

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for “God is love” (1 John 4:7-8 NASB)

There are probably fewer words in the modern English language that have been more distorted, misused, abused and overused than the word “love.” As a consequence the word love has lost its original meaning. Love as taught in the Bible is not simply a sentiment, platitude, or indefinable emotion. Most of the people who say they love may just be tolerating and some people may probably have hidden motives. As numerous scholars have researched and discussed, the Greeks have identified, there are different forms and styles of expressing love. To describe these styles, the Ancient Greeks came up with five terms (Mania, Eros, storge, agape and philia) to symbolize the five types of love, which are an attempt to describe the different motives for love.

First is Mania – Manic love is almost not a love at all. The word “lust” is probably not strong enough – “obsession” is closer to the word. This is the love of possession.

Second is Eros – Eros is obviously the root word for “erotic,” but it does not describe sexual love only, it actually describes all emotional love; the feeling of love. Eros Love – stands for passionate, sensual, longing, sexual, romantic love.

Third is Philos – Philos love, generally refers to affection between friends. From this word we have Philadelphia, the “Brotherly Love.”. Philos describes the love between two people who have common interests and experiences, or a fondness.

Fourth is Storgy – storgy is the love one has for a dependent. It is commonly called “motherly love.” It is a kind of family and friendship love. This is the love that parents naturally feel for their children; the love that member of the family have for each other; or the love that friends feel for each other.

Finally “Agape love”, in its purest form, requires no payment or favor in response. Agape is the highest of the five types of love in the Bible. Jesus Christ showed this kind of divine love to his Father and to all humanity. The most common word for God’s love for us is Agape (I John, John 3:16) and the love we are commanded to have for one another (Matt. 5:44, I Cor. 13). This is an unconditional love that sees beyond the outer surface and accepts the recipient for whom he/she is, regardless of their flaws, shortcomings or faults. This kind of love is all about sacrifice as well as giving and expecting nothing in return. The translation of the word agape is love in the verb – form: it is the love demonstrated by your behavior towards another person. It is a committed and chosen love. Agape love seeks only the highest good of others. The meaning of this word for love stands in sharp contrast to that of the other four words. This word alone points to a completely self-sacrificing love, a love that lacks self-interest, self-gratification and self-preservation. Agape love is motivated primarily by the interest and welfare of other. Let us look at this Agape love in details.

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Browse All Media

Related Media

PowerPoint Template
Banner Over Me
PowerPoint Template
Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion