Summary: The scriptures prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that the rider on the “WHITE HORSE” is certainly someone else besides the Christ.

  Study Tools
  Study Tools

First Seal: the White Horse and Its Rider

Commentary on the Book of Revelation

By: Tom Lowe Date: 8-26-15


Subtopic B: The Opening of Seven Seals (6.1-8.1)

Lesson: III.B.1: First Seal: the White Horse and Its Rider (Revelation 6:1-2)

Revelation 6:1-2 (KJV)

1 And I saw when the Lamb opened one of the seals, and I heard, as it were the noise of thunder, one of the four beasts saying, Come and see.

2 And I saw, and behold a white horse: and he that sat on him had a bow; and a crown was given unto him: and he went forth conquering, and to conquer.

Introduction to Chapter 6

This is the first of three seven-part judgments. Chapters 6-16 form the core of Revelation. Chapters 1-5 are introductory, and chapters 17-22 conclude the book of Revelation; chapters 6-16 describe the seal judgments (chapter 6), the trumpet judgments (chapters 8-9), and the bowl (vial) judgments (chapters 15-16), with interludes between them. In chapter 5, a scroll with seven seals had been handed to Christ, who is the only one worthy to break the seals and open the scroll, setting into motion the events leading up to the end of the world (5:1-5). In chapter 6, the scroll is opened as each seal is broken. The scroll is not completely opened until the seventh seal is broken (8:1). The contents of the scroll reveal mankind’s depravity and portray God’s authority over the events of human history. Let me say here that these judgments are future; they have not been fulfilled as yet. “The day of vengeance of our God” (Isaiah 61:2) has not yet come upon the earth, but it is drawing near. Up to the present our God’s throne has not been one of judgment but of grace.

Each of the judgments (seals, trumpets, bowls) consist of seven parts; the first four judgments involve natural disasters on the earth, and the last three are cosmic disasters. There are three views about how to understand this series of judgments—seals, trumpets, bowls:

Recapitulation View. According to this view, the three sets of judgments repeat each other (are cyclical); they presented three ways of viewing the same judgments. Because the trumpets and the bowls have the same order, many have concluded that the three sets are repetitive. In addition, in all three sets, the first four of the seven judgments are very similar, as are the last three of each set of seven. Exact repetition, however, occurs only in the trumpets and bowels.

Consecutive View. This view maintains that judgments will follow in the order described in Revelation: first the seals, then the trumpets, then the bowls—in other words, Revelation is describing 21 separate events. For that reason, chapters 6-16 in Revelation would be chronological.

Progressive Intensification View. The key to this view is understanding the results of the judgments. The seals destroy one-fourth of the earth; the trumpets destroy one-third; the bowls affect everything. The picture seems to be one of progressive intensity, with each of these sets of judgments ending in the same place—that is, the end of history.

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion