Summary: verse-by-verse

  Study Tools
  Study Tools

The last time we were in the book of genesis we were listening to the last words of the great patriarch Jacob as he told his 12 sons what would become of them.

[Read Genesis 49:28-33.]

In a moment Jacob was gone. He had passed from this life to the next. For him it meant eternity with God and with those who had passed before him. For his family it meant the grieving process would begin.

Probably everyone here has grieved the loss of a loved one at one time or another. It’s the process that our hearts and our minds go through to adapt ourselves to life without that special someone. The process is a little different for everyone, but it usually goes through the five stages of grief:






For some the process is long, for some the process is quick. There’s no rule of thumb since everyone and every situation is different. But when we loose a loved one we all mourn and grieve their loss in one way or another.

So as we look at the way Joseph, his family and the Egyptians grieved the loss of Jacob, we’re going to be able to see some healthy grief and some unhealthy grief.

[Read Genesis 50:1-13.]

Now these are some incredible events surrounding Jacob’s death. He’s treated like royalty by his family and by the Egyptians. So before we get to the way they grieved, let’s look at the:

I. Love and respect for Jacob

1. Joseph’s emotions, 50:1

2. Physicians over priests, 50:2, (faith, long journey)

3. Egyptian’s 70 days of mourning, 50:3, (72 for a Pharaoh)

4. Permission from Pharaoh to go bury Jacob in Canaan, 50:4-6, (risk)

5. Procession of hundreds, 50:7-9

All Jacob’s adult family, elders of Joseph’s household, elders of Egypt, Pharaoh’s servants, chariots, horsemen, (royal burial)

6. Joseph’s 7 days of mourning, 50:10

7. Buried as promised, 50:12-13

Jacob was obviously loved and respected by everyone. (Even the pagan Egyptians who

had only known him for 17 years.) Out of this esteem they gave him a burial fit for a king. But through all the pomp and circumstance, their hearts were breaking. Let’s first look at some:

II. Healthy grief

1. Joseph’s emotions, 50:1

Now that’s some healthy grief. Emotions help us express what we’re feeling inside.

Emotions are actually God’s gift to us to help us in that way. Now some people are obviously more emotional than others. When my grandfather died my grandma didn’t shed a tear for two solid weeks. But once reality sank in the tears came and helped in the grieving process.

Expressing ourselves emotionally are a healthy part of the grieving process.

2. Joseph’s 7 days of mourning, 50:10, I Samuel 31:13

This seemed to be a more formal time of grieving probably shared by the family

together. The times we gather for a memorial service for our loved ones are important times to help us in the grieving process. You know we go to a funeral to honor the departed, but often times the service helps us in the grieving process.

III. Unhealthy grief

1. Egyptian’s 70 days of mourning, 50:3, (preparing body and soul for eternity)

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Browse All Media

Related Media

Life After Death
PowerPoint Template
Life After Death 2
PowerPoint Template
From Death To Life
PowerPoint Template
Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion