Just Announced: Philippians Sermon Series

Summary: Today we’ll get a preview of the 7 last plagues; it is a fore view to the last round of judgments that God is going to send upon the earth dwellers.

Today we’ll get a preview of the 7 last plagues; it is a fore view to the last round of judgments that God is going to send upon the earth dwellers. During the tribulation period, the three sets of judgments (the seals, trumpets, and bowls) are progressive, each worse than the last.

But these last seven judgments, the bowl judgments, are somewhat different; They represent God’s final response to the world’s unrepentant wickedness.

Chapter 15: is the shortest chapter in the book of Revelation, only eight verses long. It is an introduction to the beginning of the end you could say.

Chapter 15: is where the last half of the 7 year Tribulation begins, this is the beginning of the Great Tribulation and many horrible and major plagues will fall upon the people of the earth, remember the true church was raptured back in chapter 4:

Chapter 15 is introductory to chapter 16; where these plagues actually start. The two chapters together present one connected vision.

There are Seven Seals—chapters 4 and 5 --The Seven Trumpets—chapter 8:1-6 The Seven Vials—chapter 15:1-8, and in 16: we’ll see them poured out.

These “vial” judgments are better understood if we’ll think of them as “bowl” judgments.

We can understand how fast it would be to empty a ‘bowl or vial” opposed to a bottle if it were turned up side down, these ‘BOWL-VIAL” judgments will be poured out on the earth dwellers very swiftly once it begins.

Chapter 15 is introductory and prepares us for the execution of the judgments described in chapter 16.

They are first described as the seven last plagues and then as seven vials-bowls full of the wrath of God.

These seven plagues will chronologically bring to an end the ordered events of the Tribulation judgments.

The plagues described here are most severe and occur in rapid succession, which makes them that much worse.

As the plagues near the end, its time for the return of the Lord Jesus Christ and the final phase of Armageddon.

The purpose of chapter 15 is a vindication of God’s holiness. It shows these judgments stem from the holiness of God and the perfection of His plan.

Chapter 14 has anticipated what is now about to take place under the symbolism of the seven bowls.

Lets remember, the seven plagues and seven bowls used in this chapter refer to the same judgments.

Each of these plagues are poured out suddenly, all at once as the contents of a bowl when it is turned over.


Ø Listen as I read verse 1

1And I saw another sign in heaven, great and marvellous, seven angels having the seven last plagues; for in them is filled up the wrath of God.

The word “sign” refers to a symbol that is used to signify and teach an important truth. Here the sign is the seven angels who control seven last plagues.

The former “signs” were the woman and the Dragon in chapter 12:1-3.

Here in 15: the plagues refer to the final series of judgments that will come on the Beast, his system, and his worshippers. The sign is called “great” because of the awesome power of the judgments. It is called “marvelous” because it represents the final vindication of God’s people and His divine judgment against everything evil and wicked. These “seven plagues” complete or finish God’s wrath.

There are two Greek words used for God’s “anger.” There is orge (“anger”), which emphasizes His divine attitude toward sin as it is brought about from the holiness of God.

And then there is thumos (“wrath”), which is to express God’s anger or God’s holiness in action or His wrath overflowing in righteous indignation.

The concept of greatness is here, because in scope and intensity there has been nothing previous to it to compare with these 7 last plagues.

The idea of marvel is mentioned because the inflictions will cause amazement and wonder. These plagues are marked as last, because in them the wrath of God is fully spent upon ungodly mankind.

Ø Remember chapter 15: is telling of the 7 last plagues, but they don’t began until chapter 16:


2- And I saw as it were a sea of glass mingled with fire: and them that had gotten the victory over the beast, and over his image, and over his mark, and over the number of his name, stand on the sea of glass, having the harps of God.

as it were- John didn’t see a real sea, but a broad expanse like a sea of transparent glass and it reflects an image.

It is seen mingled with fire, which, as a symbol of judgment, it stands for the perfect justice of God and his actions with men.

It is also seen upholding the saints who stand firmly upon it. This reflects the immutable faithfulness of God in His grace and love to His people through His perfect plan of salvation in Christ.

Copy Sermon to Clipboard with PRO Download Sermon with PRO
Browse All Media

Related Media

Life After Death
PowerPoint Template
Life After Death 2
PowerPoint Template
From Death To Life
PowerPoint Template
Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion