Summary: As we think about the Deadly Sins, that raises a fundamental question, “What is sin?” The Bible doesn’t give one definition of sin. There is one primary word in the Greek NT which is used are most often for the word sin, hamartia. Hamartia was used in arc

  Study Tools
  Study Tools

The Seven Deadly Sins

Galatians 5:16-25

Several years ago, Bill Bennett, former Education Secretary, a devout Catholic and the author of “The Book of Virtues” was discovered to be a heavy gambler in Las Vegas. Bennett in an interview following the disclosure in the media, apologized for gambling and said he would quit gambling altogether. In an interview with a Fox News reporter he said, ‘Apparently what happens in Vegas, doesn’t stay in Vegas.’We may be uncomfortable talking about it, but sin is a hard truth. We try to ignore it or pretend it’s not there. But sin is not a vacation spot that we visit and enjoy ourselves in excess only to come home to be normal again, leaving it all behind. Rather we carry with us our sins wherever we go and we have trouble laying them down, because sin stays in us. We are about to start the season of Lent, a season of soul-searching, evaluation of our lives and repentance of our sins. Most of us never really take the time to evaluate our lives, let alone to name and confess our sins. In fact, in most churches today, there’s very little mention or discussion about sin. We act almost as if sin isn’t real. But the truth is, sin is real and it has a part in each of our lives. It is a constant battle. As Jesus noted in the Garden of Gethsemane when he found the disciples asleep while he was praying, “The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.” The same can be said about our following God’s will in our lives and why we sometimes fall short and sin: “The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.”

So what better time to talk about sin than during the season of Lent? Today we begin a new series, “The “7 Deadly Sins” which is meant to help you in your journey of Lent to evaluate your life and name and repent of your sins. This is a time to get real about the lives we lead, the thoughts we wrestle with and the desires with which we struggle. It was a monk named St. John Cassian in the 4th century who began to put down on paper the things that he struggled with. He originally wrote down 8 deadly sins he wrestled with in his life and as he lived in community with other monks, he found that they shared these same common struggles. In the 6th century Pope Gregory I limited the list to 7 and pronounced that these sins are not unique to those in the monastery but that all Christians struggled with these sins. The Seven Deadly Sins were originally taught to educate and instruct Christians not only about humanity’s tendency to sin but also equip us in the pitfalls which lie before us in following God. The sins were listed in order from least to most deadly beginning with lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and finally pride. The early church saw these sins as enemies of the virtues Christians needed. Instead of lust -self-control, instead of gluttony – temperance, instead of Greed – generosity, instead of sloth – zeal, instead of anger – kindness, instead of envy – love, instead of pride - humility. So the 7 Deadly Sins were taught not only to help us avoid them but to free us to pursue the virtues of God or more simply, to be the person God wants us to be and to live the life he would have us live.

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Browse All Media

Related Media

Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion