Summary: The Study Of “The New Testament”

  Study Tools
  Study Tools

The Study Of “The New Testament”

2 Timothy 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:


The Bible has two main parts. The first part is called the Old Testament. The second part is the New Testament. The New Testament contains 27 books. It begins with Matthew and ends with Revelation. These books were written by eight men. These men wrote what God told them to write. The New Testament books were written in the Greek language. Later the New Testament books were translated into other languages. The New Testament is divided into 4 major sections. These sections are: The Gospels, History, Epistles, and Prophecy.

• The Gospels

The first 4 books of the New Testament (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) are called the Gospels. The word “Gospel” means “good news.” These books tell us the good news of the coming of Christ to save man from his sins. These books also tell us of the birth, life, teachings, death, burial, and resurrection of Christ. The authors of the Gospels are the same as the title of each book.

• History

The book of history in the New Testament is Acts of the Apostles. It is often called the book of ACTS. This book was written by Luke. It tells of the beginning of Christ’s church in Acts, chapter 2. Throughout the rest of the book, it tells how the church spread throughout the world. Acts tells many things that Peter and Paul did. The book of Acts also tells and shows us how people became Christians. Acts is often called the book of conversions. This is because it has so many examples of people being converted to Christ. The following verses are examples of how people became Christians. You should study them carefully.

A. Acts 2:36-38, 41, 42, 47 People on day of Pentecost

B. Acts 8:1-13 People of Samaria

C. Acts 8:26-39 Ethiopian Eunuch

D. Acts 9:1-19; Acts 22:1-16 Saul of Tarsus, who became the apostle Paul

E. Acts 10:1-48 Cornelius

F. Acts 16:25-34 Philippian jailer

• The Epistles

The word “epistle” means “letter.” There are 21 epistles in the New Testament. The epistles of the New Testament can be divided into 2 groups: the Epistles of Paul and the General Epistles. The apostle Paul wrote at least 13 of the 21 epistles. They are: Romans, 1 and 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 and 2 Thessalonians, 1 and 2 Timothy, Titus, and Philemon. Some believe Paul also wrote Hebrews. Some of Paul’s epistles were written to individual persons and some to certain churches. Here is a brief summary of each one of the epistles:

Romans: Chapters 1-11 show that we are saved by faith. Chapter 12- 16 are given to encourage the Romans to live the Christian life.

1 and 2 Corinthians: These books were written to the church at Corinth. Paul started this church. First Corinthians tells of the many problems the church had. Paul tells them to correct them. Second Corinthians shows that some of these problems had been overcome.

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion