Summary: The heavenly progressive sequence in the Revelation of Jesus Christ is studied for its significance

  Study Tools
  Study Tools

The Thundering Throne-Room of God

While lightning is spectacular and draws us to wonder at the great power of God in the heavenlies, the ground shaking, ear rattling effect of thunder is the real attention getter, as the power of a fierce and furious thunderstorm passes by, when the majestic might of God Himself seems to fill the landscape. So it was, as indicated in the book of Job 36:26-37:5 the first in time book written in the Bible, and will be again when He unveils His end times program at the end of this age in the last book written, the book of The Revelation of Jesus Christ.

The Revelation of Jesus Christ chapter four opens a door into heaven for the Apostle John to experience The Thundering Throne-room of God, as all of heaven’s glory is brought before him:

‘And immediately I was in the Spirit; and, behold, a throne was set in heaven, and one sat on the throne. And He that sat was to look upon like a jasper and a sardine stone: and there was a rainbow round about the throne, in sight like unto and emerald. And round about the throne were four and twenty seats; and upon the seats I saw four and twenty elders sitting, clothed in white raiment; and they had on their heads crowns of gold. And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices’ (Revelation 4:2-5a)

The Scripture continues for the remainder of the chapter describing the rest of the heavenly throne room scene including those who are present worshipping God in this grand and glorious opening chapter of ‘The things which must be hereafter’(Revelation 1:19).

However, the focus of this message is the underlined phrase above which is found three other times in the course of the book of the Revelation of Jesus Christ. This heavenly sequence serves to indicate the progressive and chronological nature of this final book of Scripture!

These occurrences will also show the increasing activity of God and His Day of the Lord Wrath/Judgment upon the entire world in order that He might purify His people, the Jews, and punish the rest of those who have openly rebelled against Him and continually refuse to repent!

In chapters five, six and seven much has taken place in the unfolding drama of end time events. Chapter five is coupled to chapter four continuing the throne room scene emphasizing the worthiness of the Lamb of God, our Lord Jesus Christ, to take the book which contains God’s Day of the Lord Wrath/Judgment, and to open the seals which are on the outside of the book/scroll.

The Seven Seals are opened sequentially conditioning the earth for God’s Wrath with the last three seals focusing upon His wrath:

1. The martyrs in Seal Five inquire of His wrath

2. The signs given in Seal Six indicate His wrath is impending, or about to occur

3. Then Seal Seven initiates His wrath after silence overwhelms heaven for thirty minutes… And then, the first Trumpet Judgment occurs, but not before the sequence we are studying is mentioned.

The Passing of the Torch takes place when the saints are raptured and the 144 Thousand Jews are sealed between the sixth and seventh seal, but, the key point in all of that has transpired in Revelation 4-7 to this point in time is what is ALLOWED by God vs. what is AUTHORED by God!

Download Sermon With PRO View On One Page With PRO
Browse All Media

Related Media

Talk about it...

Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

Join the discussion