Sermon Illustrations


In the Roman Catholic Church there is a list of the seven deadly sins: Pride, Envy, Gluttony, Greed, Lust, Wrath, and Sloth. In 1995 a film titled Se7en focused on the seven deadly sins, a character that thinks of himself as the Sword of God, chooses victims whom he believes to be egregious examples of people guilty of each of the seven deadly sins and metes out punishment to them.

The seven deadly sins exist in a black and white world. The Ten Commandments exist in a world of black and white. The Catholic Church recently added seven additional sins to the original seven.

The Vatican newspaper cites an additional seven "violations of the basic rights of human nature." They are:

1. Taking part in polluting the environment

2. Genetic engineering

3. Being obscenely wealthy

4. Taking or selling drugs

5. Having an abortion

6. Engaging in pedophilia

7. Causing social injustice

("Vatican City: More sins to avoid," The3 Week (3-21-08), p. 6 and Richard Owen, "Seven Deadly Sins: Are you guilty?" (3-10-08). From a sermon by Monty Newton, "Navigataing the Gray Areas" 1/30/2009)

Related Sermon Illustrations

Related Sermons

Browse All Media

Related Media